Danny Smith Wires OCRS Field at Lawton!

Lonnie Wheatley, LAWTON, Okla. (August 19, 2023) – Danny Smith made a last-minute decision to make the trip from Sand Springs to Lawton Speedway pay off to the tune of $1,500 by wiring the field in Saturday night’s 30-lap Oil Capital Racing Series feature event atop the ¼-mile clay oval.

After racing from fifth to second in his heat race, Smith landed the pole position for the feature and led from start-to-finish aboard the DSO-powered Same Day Auto Repair/Tire Pros No. 5$ for his first series win of the season.

“I had this dumbass idea today and said let’s go to Lawton,” Smith commented in victory lane.  “I said what’s the only place that’s hotter than Hell?  It’s gotta be Lawton so we came on down.”

With temperatures still hovering in the triple digits as the evening started, Smith scored the pole position for the main event and outgunned Joe Wood, Jr., at the outset to take command.

Smith withstood a red flag stoppage after six laps when Fred Mattox got upside down in turn four when unable to avoid a spinning Cody Carter and another yellow flag a dozen laps later when Carter turned around in turn one.

Aside from that, there was no stopping Smith as rallied about the top-side of the oval to perfection. Joe Bob Lee made his way into second in the early going and posted his second runner-up position in as many nights with Alex Sewell making his way forward from sixth to fill out the podium in third.  Wood, Jr., settled for fourth with tenth-starter Zach Chappell rounding out the top five.

Austin Shores, Wood, Jr., Lee and Carter topped heat race action for the 27-car field with Sheldon Barksdale winning the “B” Main.

Oil Capital Racing Series

Lawton Speedway (Lawton, Okla.)

August 19, 2023, Results:

AmeriFlex Hose Accessories A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 5$-Danny Smith[1]; 2. 5-Joe Bob Lee[3]; 3. 8-Alex Sewell[6]; 4. 28-Joe Wood Jr[2]; 5. 50Z-Zach Chappell[10]; 6. 22M-Rees Moran[11]; 7. 55-Johnny Kent[9]; 8. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[15]; 9. 72C-Kayden Cole[14]; 10. 55W-Danny Wood[13]; 11. 17-Jeremy Allen[17]; 12. 29G-Gerald Smith[16]; 13. 2-Beau Gastineau[20]; 14. 39-Joshua Tyre[12]; 15. 6-Cody Carter[4]; 16. 98K-Dane Fields[18]; 17. 18-Austin Shores[5]; 18. 99J-Cooper Sullivan[8]; 19. 26M-Fred Mattox[7]; 20. 50-Cody Whitworth[19] Hoosier Racing Tire

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[2]; 2. 29G-Gerald Smith[3]; 3. 17-Jeremy Allen[5]; 4. 98K-Dane Fields[1]; 5. 50-Cody Whitworth[4]; 6. 2-Beau Gastineau[8]; 7. 94F-Morgan Fletcher[9]; 8. 10P-Parker Ezell[13]; 9. 22Z-Landon Valenzuela[6]; 10. 54-Michael Gossman[11]; 11. 31-Colin Fletcher[12]; 12. (DNS) 15-Brody Brown; 13. (DNS) 12M-Mitchell Barros

Schure Built Suspensions Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Austin Shores[2]; 2. 26M-Fred Mattox[4]; 3. 98K-Dane Fields[1]; 4. 39-Joshua Tyre[6]; 5. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[7]; 6. 2-Beau Gastineau[5]; 7. 31-Colin Fletcher[3]

Lightning Wings Powder Coating Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 28-Joe Wood Jr[2]; 2. 5$-Danny Smith[5]; 3. 8-Alex Sewell[7]; 4. 29G-Gerald Smith[3]; 5. 17-Jeremy Allen[4]; 6. 15-Brody Brown[6]; 7. 10P-Parker Ezell[1]

Smith Titanium Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 5-Joe Bob Lee[2]; 2. 22M-Rees Moran[1]; 3. 72C-Kayden Cole[3]; 4. 50Z-Zach Chappell[7]; 5. 50-Cody Whitworth[6]; 6. 94F-Morgan Fletcher[5]; 7. 54-Michael Gossman[4]

DSO Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 6-Cody Carter[1]; 2. 99J-Cooper Sullivan[4]; 3. 55-Johnny Kent[5]; 4. 55W-Danny Wood[6]; 5. 22Z-Landon Valenzuela[2]; 6. 12M-Mitchell Barros[3]

Leave a Reply