STN Officially Kicks Off Tonight!

Lonnie Wheatley, LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (September 30, 2022) – With Thursday night’s appetizer cleaned off the table, the final Short Track Nationals atop the high-banked, ¼-mile I-30 Speedway oval kicks off tonight.

Tonight’s race program consists of group qualifying by heat race group, heat races, “B” Mains and “Twin 20” lap “A” Main events.  The top two from each “A” Main lock into Saturday night’s $15,041-to-win 35th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires finale.

The balance of the field will earn points through qualifying, heat races and feature finish that will be added to Saturday heat race passing points to set the balance of Saturday feature lineups with the top two overall in points joining the four lock-ins in the Pack Dash for Cash that sets the front three rows of Saturday’s 41-lap finale.

With an influx of entries that brought Thursday’s entries to 74 for the “15th Annual Ralph Henson Memorial”, the current entry count going into Friday’s STN prelim event is at 85 with more possible by race time.

Aaron Reutzel dominated Thursday night’s 25-lap feature event to take the $5,646 winner’s share with Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Jordon Mallett, Wayne Johnson and Ryan Timms filling out the top five.

Entries going into tonight are as follows:

No.Name (Hometown)
0Eric Baldaccini (Cypress, TX)
1jrSteven Russell (Russellville, MO)
1sJoey Schmidt (Laurel, MS)
2Chase Porter (St. Joseph, MO)
2cWayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK)
2TTodd Bradford (Arlington, TN)
3Howard Moore (Memphis, TN)
4xBrad Bowden (Hernando, MS)
5LDusty Young (Benton, AR)
5TRyan Timms (Oklahoma City, OK)
g6Cody Gardner (Benton, AR)
8mKade Morton (Coweta, OK)
8rAaron Reutzel (Clute, TX)
9jrDerek Hagar (Marion, AR)
10Landon Britt (Memphis, TN)
10kDewayne White (Byhalia, MS)
10pDylan Postier (Stillwater, OK)
12hTony Bruce, Jr. (Liberal, KS)
12mGreg Merritt (Nesbit, MS)
13Chase Howard (Nesbit, MS)
13mChance McCrary (Farmersville, TX)
14Jordon Mallett (Greenbrier, AR)
15hSam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX)
15JJeremy Middleton (N. Little Rock, AR)
16Steven Howell (Byhalia, MS)
16cTylar Rankin (Angola, IN)
17bRyan Bickett (Sioux Falls, SD)
17JJerry Brey (Billings, MT)
17FChad Frewaldt (Kansas City, KS)
17aAlex Lyles (Memphis, TN)
17Alex Sewell (Broken Arrow, OK)
19Jason Long (Benton, AR)
21Spencer Meredith (Hernando, MS)
21kKevin Hinkle (Austin, AR)
21RGunner Ramey (Sedalia, MO)
22Riley Goodno (Knoxville, IA)
22kKaleb Poe (Scott, AR)
22sSlater Helt (Harrisonville, MO)
23Seth Bergman (Snohomish, WA)
24Jeffrey West (Atoka, TN)
24wGaret Williamson (Columbia, MO)
26Marshall Skinner (Marion, AR)
27JJoseph Poe, Jr. (Scott, AR)
29Chad Jones (Memphis, TN0
30Joseph Miller (Cove, AR)
36Jason Martin (Liberal, KS)
37Ayden Gatewood (Caruthersville, MO)
38Rick Pringle (Benton, AR)
39Justin Sanders (Aromas, CA)
41Colton Hardy (Phoenix, AZ)
42pPreston Perlmutter (San Antonio, TX)
43mMark Smith (Sunbury, PA)
44Ronny Howard (Nesbit, MS)
45xKyler Johnson (Quinter, KS)
47Dale Howard (Byhalia, MS)
47xDylan Westbrook (Scotland, ON)
48Wade Buttrey (Fairview, TX)
51bJoe B. Miller (Millersburgville, MO)
52Blake Hahn (Salpulpa, OK)
55bBrandon Anderson (Glenpool, OK)
55Donnie Howard (Nesbit, MS)
63Chris Williams (Forney, TX)
67Hayden Martin (Byhalia, MS)
69Jamey Mooney (Heber Springs, AR)
71Bradyn Baker (Benton, AR)
72Jason Howell (Fort Worth, TX)
72pGary Floyd (San Angelo, TX)
73Samuel Wagner (Lone Jack, MO)
74Tucker Boulton (Brighton, TN)
77Jack Wagner (Lone Jack, MO)
84Brandon Hanks (Burlison, TN)
85Josh McCord (Bossier City, LA)
87Tim Crawley (Benton, AR)
87jJace Park (Overland Park, KS)
91Michael Day (Farmersville, TX)
91aErnie Ainsworth (Bartlett, TN)
91zZach Pringle (Benton, AR)
93Chris Sweeney (Houston, TX)
95Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK)
97Scotty Milan (Fort Collins, CO)
99Blake Jenkins (Alexander, AR)
99LLewis Jenkins, Jr. (Bryant, AR)
132Jamie Manley (Memphis, TN)
187Landon Crawley (Benton, AR)
938Bradley Fezard (Bonnerdale, AR)

The Pertinent Info:

The What:  35th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires.

The Where:  I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR).  I-30 Speedway is located seven miles southwest of Little Rock off I-30 Exit 126 (Alexander Road).

The When:  September 29 through October 1, 2022. 

Thursday, September 29 – $5,646-to-win ASCS Mid-South sanctioned “15th Annual Ralph Henson Tribute”

Friday, September 30 – 35th Annual Short Track preliminary that culminates with $1,500-to-win “Twin 20’s” with top two from each feature locking into the STN finale.

Saturday, October 1 – 35th Annual Short Track Nationals $15,041-to-win championship finale.

The Mufflers:  Leave ‘em at home, no mufflers required for this weekend.

The Format:  Friday’s preliminary event will be contested under a derivative of the All Star Circuit of Champions format, with group qualifying establishing heat race lineups with an invert of four in each heat race.  The Friday preliminary will conclude with “Twin 20’s”, a pair of $1,500-to-win 20-lap “A” Main events.

The top two from each of the “Twin 20’s” will be locked into Saturday night’s “Dash for Cash” and the championship main event.

Friday events points accumulated will be carried over to Saturday night, with another set of heats utilizing passing points added to the Friday total to set the championship feature lineups.  The top two in combined points from Friday night and the Saturday heat races with join Friday’s four lock-ins in the Pack Building Materials “Dash for Cash”.  The next eight in points will occupy STN championship feature positions 7-14 with the balance of the field in “B” and “C” Mains.  Three will transfer from both “B” Mains to set the 20-car feature field.  The 21st position is reserved for this year’s I-30 Speedway track champion if necessary.

The Feature Purse: 

October 1, STN Finale: 1st – $15,041, 2nd – $7,500, 3rd – $5,000, 4th – $2,500, 5th – $2,000, 6th – $1,700, 7th – $1,600, 8th – $1,500, 9th – $1,450, 10th – $1,400, 11th – $1,350, 12th – $1,300, 13th – $1,200, 14th – $1,150, 15th – $1,100, 16th – $1,100, 17th–  $1,100, 18th – $1,100, 19th – $1,100, 20th – $1,100.

September 30 STN Preliminary “Twin 20’s”:  1st – $1,500, 2nd – $750, 3rd – $650, 4th – $625, 5th – $600, 6th – $550, 7th – $525, 8th – $500, 9th – $450, 10th – $400, 11th – $350, 12th – $325, 13th – $300, 14th – $275, 15th – $250, 16th – $250, 17th – $250, 18th – $250, 19th – $250, 20th – $250.

The Past Winners: 

2021-Blake Hahn

2020–Sam Hafertepe, Jr.

2019-Blake Hahn

2018-Blake Hahn

2017-Sammy Swindell

2016-Sammy Swindell

2015-Rained Out

2014-Christopher Bell

2013-Sammy Swindell

2012-Paul McMahan

2011-Sammy Swindell

2010-Brad Sweet

2009-Tony Bruce, Jr.

2008-Tony Bruce, Jr.

2007-Jason Meyers

2006-Jason Johnson

2005-Tim Montgomery

2004-Gary Wright

2003-Gary Wright

2002-Paul McMahan

2001-Jason Sides

2000-Mike Ward

1999-Gary Wright

1998-Tim Crawley

1997-Wayne Johnson

1996-Pete Butler

1995-Gary Wright

1994-Terry Gray

1993-John Gerloff

1992-Rained Out

1991-Steve Kinser

1990-Sammy Swindell

1989-Steve Kinser

1988-Steve Kinser

The Tickets:  Advance two-day tickets are $45.

Day of show prices are $20 on Friday and $30 on Saturday.

Children under 12 are admitted free on both nights.

To order tickets or for more information, check online at or call the track at 501-455-4567.

Pit passes are $40 on both Friday and Saturday.  Driver pit pass for Friday and Saturday is included in the $100 entry fee if submitted by the deadline.

The Broadcast:  If you can’t make it to the STN to catch all the breathtaking action in person, no need to fret as you can catch it all live online at

For more information regarding I-30 Speedway’s Short Track Nationals, check at or call the track at 501-455-4567.

Leave a Reply