Moore Masters USCS at The Ditch!

Lonnie Wheatley, WEST MEMPHIS, Ark. (July 2, 2022) – Howard Moore was on a mission at Riverside International Speedway on Saturday night.

It was a mission to dominate the United Sprint Car Series field atop the fabled ¼-mile “The Ditch” gumbo clay oval, leaving only the second and third-place finishers on the lead lap as the Memphis, TN, racer earned his first win of the season aboard the Rains’ High Performance Lubricants No. 3 Sprint Car.

Following a red flag on the initial start in which second and third starters Dale Howard and Hayden Martin both got upside down getting into turn one and eliminating Brad Bowden as well, Moore outgunned Marshall Skinner to take command at the outset.

From there, he proceeded to slice through the field with Skinner and Cody Gardner giving chase in second and third until a tangle in lapped traffic with just four laps to go sent both pitside, handing the runner-up position to Little Rock’s Blake Jenkins.

Jenkins made a run at Moore on the final restart, but to no avail as Moore slipped away to secure the win.  Twelfth-starter Jenkins settled for runner-up honors with Ronny Howard filling out the podium in third as Terry Gray and Alex Lyles rounded out the top five.

Skinner, Bowden and Martin topped heat race action for the 20-car field.

United Sprint Car Series

Riverside International Speedway – West Memphis, AR

Saturday, July 2, 2022

United Sprint Car Series:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 3-Howard Moore[1]; 2. 99-Blake Jenkins[12]; 3. 44-Ronny Howard[7]; 4. 10-Terry Gray[11]; 5. 17-Alex Lyles[10]; 6. 9JR-Derek Hagar[13]; 7. 21K-Kevin Hinkle[18]; 8. 28-Jeff Willingham[14]; 9. 17L-Jeff Leach[16]; 10. 63LK-Ted Kirkpatrick[17]; 11. (DNF) G6-Cody Gardner[9]; 12. (DNF) 26-Marshall Skinner[5]; 13. (DNF) 2T-Todd Bradford[19]; 14. (DNF) 91A-Ernie Ainsworth[8]; 15. (DNF) 13-Chase Howard[6]; 16. (DNF) 47-Dale Howard[2]; 17. (DNF) 67-Hayden Martin[3]; 18. (DNF) 4X-Brad Bowden[4]; 19. (DNF) 23H-Steven Howell[15]; 20. (DNS) 61-Sean Wimpee

Hoosier Speed Dash (6 Laps): 1. 3-Howard Moore[1]; 2. 47-Dale Howard[2]; 3. 67-Hayden Martin[4]; 4. 4X-Brad Bowden[5]; 5. 26-Marshall Skinner[3]; 6. 13-Chase Howard[6]

Engler Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 26-Marshall Skinner[1]; 2. 13-Chase Howard[2]; 3. 3-Howard Moore[7]; 4. 10-Terry Gray[4]; 5. 9JR-Derek Hagar[6]; 6. 21K-Kevin Hinkle[3]; 7. 2T-Todd Bradford[5]

JJ Supply of NC Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 4X-Brad Bowden[2]; 2. 44-Ronny Howard[1]; 3. 47-Dale Howard[6]; 4. 99-Blake Jenkins[4]; 5. 23H-Steven Howell[3]; 6. 17L-Jeff Leach[5]

HERO Graphics Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 67-Hayden Martin[3]; 2. 91A-Ernie Ainsworth[1]; 3. G6-Cody Gardner[5]; 4. 17-Alex Lyles[6]; 5. 28-Jeff Willingham[7]; 6. 63LK-Ted Kirkpatrick[4]; 7. (DNS) 61-Sean Wimpee

Leave a Reply