Schuchart, Schuerenberg & Scelzi among Friday Headliners…

Lonnie Wheatley, BROKEN ARROW, Okla. (April 29, 2022) – With the racing season kicking in to gear despite regional weather issues, a handful of Winged 410 Sprint Car events dotted the country’s landscape on Friday night with Logan Schuchart, Hunter Schuerenberg, Dominic Scelzi, Trey Jacobs and Devon Borden each snaring first wins of the year.

World of Outlaws – Bristol

The World of Outlaws took to the dirt at the Bristol Motor Speedway on Friday night for the first round of the “Bristol Bash” and it was to Logan Schuchart’s liking this time as he picked off his first series win of the year.

Schuchart and Aaron Reutzel traded sliders for the point in the opening pair of circuits and one bobble by Reutzel exiting turn two proved to be all she wrote as Schuchart capitalized and cruised on to the checkered flag ahead of Reutzel in an otherwise uneventful feature event atop the too-fast high banks.

The night’s drama came from Kyle Larson in the Late Model ranks, who rallied from the tail of the field after having his front row outside starting position stripped from him for being late to staging.  Larson responded by slicing through the field and challenged for the lead on the final lap only to tag the turn one wall before jumping into his No. 57 Sprint Car and finishing seventh.

“Yung Money” was correct in his comments regarding the Late Model penalty yet also wrong.  It’s difficult to excuse being late to staging when two different crews work on each car and there was ample time from his Sprint Car heat until the Late Model feature, although car owner Rumley’s account of how events transpired merits some consideration. 

WoO Top Ten:  1. 1S-Logan Schuchart[1]; 2. 8-Aaron Reutzel[2]; 3. 11K-Kraig Kinser[3]; 4. 41-Carson Macedo[4]; 5. 2-David Gravel[6]; 6. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild[8]; 7. 57-Kyle Larson[7]; 8. 5-Spencer Bayston[5]; 9. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[9]; 10. 49-Brad Sweet[10].

All Star Circuit of Champions – Lernerville

Hunter Schuerenberg chased down Justin Peck for the point on the 12th of 30 circuits and then kept a closing Greg Wilson at bay through traffic in the closing laps to secure his first win of the season in an entertaining feature event.  Reigning All Star champ Tyler Courtney ripped the top side around Wilson in the final corner to steal second in his first visit to Lernerville.  Meanwhile, supposed “One-Track Wonder” Logan Wagner ripped through the field from 21st to round out the top five, and this wasn’t Port Royal.

It kicked off a three-race weekend with the series moving on to Sharon Speedway on Saturday and then Waynesfield on Sunday.

All Star Top Ten: 1. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[2]; 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[3]; 3. 97-Greg Wilson[5]; 4. 13-Justin Peck[1]; 5. 1-Logan Wagner[21]; 6. 19M-Brent Marks[9]; 7. 11-Parker Price Miller[7]; 8. 4-Cap Henry[13]; 9. 11K-Michael Kofoid[4]; 10. 22C-Cole Duncan[22]

Silver Dollar Speedway – Chico, CA

After racking up 22 overall wins last year, Dominic Scelzi broke out of the early-season, limited-racing doldrums by winning Friday night’s 30-lap Brownell & Herseth Classic that leads into Saturday’s NARC/KWS David Tarter Memorial.

Scelzi fought off a Corey Day challenge on an early restart and stayed in command throughout en route to a 50th career feature win as several expected red flags atop the bullring claimed Shane Golobic, Andy Forsberg and Willie Croft.  While the turn one cushion tripped up both Forsberg and Croft, Golobic had discussions with Mitchell Faccinto after his backstretch tumble.

Chico Top Ten: 1. 4D1-Dominic Scelzi[1]; 2. 2X-Justin Sanders[3]; 3. 41-Corey Day[4]; 4. 17WX-Ryan Bernal[8]; 5. 16A-Sean Becker[9]; 6. 21T-Mitchell Faccinto[13]; 7. 2XM-Max Mittry[6]; 8. 38B-Blake Carrick[12]; 9. 69-Bud Kaeding[14]; 10. 12J-John Clark[17].

In Pennsvylvania and Ohio action, Devon Borden sported a new look aboard the Heffner Racing No. 27 and obviously looks matter as he came away with his second career Williams Grove win and first of the year while Trey Jacobs denied Okie teen invader Ryan Timms victory lane honors at Ohio’s Attica Raceway Park.

Williams Grove Top Ten: 1. Devon Borden, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. Mark Smith, 4. Freddie Rahmer, 5. Tyler Ross, 6. Brandon Rahmer, 7. Justin Whittall, 8. Lucas Wolfe, 9. Brent Shearer, 10. Dylan Cisney.

Attica Top Ten: 1. Trey Jacobs, 2. Ryan Timms, 3. Cole Macedo, 4. D.J. Foos, 5. Tyler Gunn, 6. Travis Philo, 7. Caleb Griffith, 8. Kyle Capodice, 9. Stuart Brubaker, 10. Byron Reed.

Defying Mother Nature’s glaring looks for as long as possible, the USAC Sprint Cars took to Indiana’s Bloomington Speedway with a stout field of 35 cars only to have the skies finally open just prior to the feature event.  Jake Sawnson set the standard in qualifying only to be bounced off a right rear in heat race action and relegated to a scheduled 11th starting position in the main event after a “B” Main transfer as Jason McDougal and C.J. Leary were geared up to start from the front row.  A makeup date for the feature event is TBD.

USAC gives it another try on Saturday night at Haubstadt’s Tri-State Speedway before shifting to the big cars for Sunday’s Silver Crown Sumar Classic at the Terre Haute Action Track.

Leave a Reply